top of page
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
Search
  • Writer's pictureCJ Pascual-Tabuyo

Olfactory Diary

I had a very busy weekend filled with many events. From ILH championships, getting ready for Prom, the actual Prom, the hotel stay, then staying up to finish all the homework I did't finish, and almost burning down the house from falling asleep with the stove on at 2:00 am. I very eventful weekend.


Friday April 26, 2019 (Kamehameha Gymnasium)

1. Tatami Mats 2:33 pm

- As I walked into the gym, all the judo mats were laid out and set ready to be fought on. The smell of the fresh tatami mats hit my nose instantly. It is a fresh straw smell, comforting and relaxing. Judo is my passion and I have been surrounded by judo for a long time - 12 years. The smell of the tatami brought me into the "judo" vibe. Calming yet stern and strong. It helped me get myself into focus

2. The smell of pizza 3:28 pm

- It has been a long week of cutting weight for judo, lose a couple pounds to make weight in order to play in my desired weight class. The smell of pizza, from Costco still hot and fresh when you open the lid. The smell, to me, portrayed the idea of congratulations or reward. Passed the first thing to making my 3rd ILH Championship title. I was so happy that I made weight and was able to eat a good slice of Pizza after weigh ins.

3. The smell of sweat 8:58 pm

- It was right after my Finals match, and I won my third ILH Championship title. The smell of sweat on my clothes, on my gi, on my face, under my nose, reminds me of my hard work. It reminded me on how hard I worked for this and how much I had to sacrifice for this. I shed my blood, sweat, and tears for this title. It all comes down to who really wants it more and who is willing to give all out for it.

4. Smell of Rain 9: 46 pm

- As we walked out of the gymnasium, it was raining, and the smell of rain made me relax. It made me feel complete, relieved, that I finished the first thing off my list for this season - get my third ILH Championship title, and now on the road for states.

5. Frying of fries 10:12 pm @zippys

- We walked into the restaurant and I was immediately hit with the smells of fries. It made me happy knowing that I have accomplished something that not a lot of athletes can do. I was rewarded with fries since I love fries so much when I am able to eat it.

6. Japanese Curry 10:32 pm

- One of my comfort foods is Japanese Curry. When my plate of food came, it help satisfy my uneasiness of states. It also helped me have the feel of isolation from the others, for I needed to really focus on the next thing even if it was just 2 hours after I just won. States will be a big competition and an exciting event for me. There is so much pressure because of my devastating lost last year which took me away from getting my 2nd State crown due to a spinal fracture, after winning a state crown in my freshman year. This year, I am ready for the competition and have my eye on that state crown.

Saturday April 27, 2019 (Prom day)

7. Nail polish remover 9:56 am @ Nail Salon

- I was half asleep with my body sore from the night before of ILH Championships. I walked into the Nail Salon and was hit by the usage of nail polish remover. The smell reminded me that its painful to be pretty.

8. Hair spray 12:03 pm @ Hair Salon

- Getting ready for prom WOOOO! went for a Gatsby hairstyle and needed lots of hairspray. It reminded me of days I used to compete in Hula. Where we would use about 2 bottles of hairspray per person for our hair to stay up in a poof for a whole day, even if we are sweating.

9. Smell of flowers 4:16 pm @ Ilikai Hotel Room

- The flowers for prom smelled wonderful and it gave me a feeling of comfort and relaxation. I could smell those roses all night long

10. Smell of leather in Limousine 5:07 pm

- Just got into the limousine to go to prom. The smell of leather made me feel grand and fancy in a way. It really up my mood for prom, it got me more excited for the rest of the night.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
SIGN UP AND STAY UPDATED!
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon

© 2023 by Talking Business.  Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page